Available 24 hours, every day · (07) 4636 9600 View a funeral via webstream
Phishing

Phishing

Don’t get reeled in by scammers

Please think before you click: Scammers are targeting grieving family and friends by pretending online to be genuine businesses to access your money or other sensitive information. Please be aware that Burstows will NEVER charge you to view the livestream of a funeral or tribute.

Nor will we make social media profiles for funerals. We suggest families and friends refrain from creating such posts as well, as these can be trolled and fraudulently copied. (Please note that our Warwick branch does post funeral notices by request as per newspaper classifieds but there are no associated links.)

Scammers are many things but they are not stupid, and they are increasingly able to make what appear to be legitimate links, even copying business logos and style.

They may create social media profiles using the deceased’s name and photos to make them look real, sometimes posing as family or friends. They may create a URL that looks very similar to the real webcast link, except for a slight change in spelling, added letters or other characters, or a different domain.

Simply clicking on the link could be enough to give scammers access to your online details, or they may ask for a small fee or other personal details before you can “view the service” – which of course you will never see. They may even suggest donating to a “gofundme” to help pay for the funeral.

For your safety you will find access to any funeral livestreams directly through our website Tribute Centre https://www.burstows.com.au/tribute-centre. Here you will find service details for each person in our care or who we have cared for, a livestream link where available, and a window to add your condolences. If you have any questions, please call us on (07) 4636 9600.